The Order of 1066


1968 Mr W H Dyer former Publicity Officer for Hastings

1969 Mrs Doris Swaine a local journalist

1970 Mr Percy Walker Past President of Hastings Rotary Club

1971 Mr Joe Adams former Secretary of Hastings Lifeboat

1972 Mr R H Bryant a former Mayor of Hastings

1973 Mr A K Vint OBE a former Public Relations/Publicity Officer for Hastings

1974 Hon Alderman Mrs Vera Jones a former Mayor of Hastings

1975 Mr Charles Hayward a local historian and lecturer

1976 Group Captain Ralph Ward organiser of the 900th Anniversary of the Battle Celebrations in 1966

1977 Miss Daphne Cheal Secretary of Hastings Charities Association

1978 Mr Barry Funnell a local historian and lecturer

1979 Dr R E Irvine OBE Consultant Physician, Hastings Department of Geriatric Medicine

1980 Mrs lrene Quilter Secretary, Hastings & Bexhill Society, Mentally Handicapped Children

1981 Mr John Burton MBE former Director of Entertainments and President of Hastings Winkle Club

1982 Miss Phyllis Godfrey Principal of The Hollies School of Dancing

1983 Mr Eric Blackham former Councillor / Chairman of European Consultative Group

1984 Mr Joe Martin former Coxswain of Hastings Lifeboat

1985 Mr A E R Keyte former CO Hastings Sea Cadets

1987 Mr G J Davies President of Hastings Chamber of Commerce

1988 Miss Dorothy Clements BEM Founder Chairman of Hastings First Association

1989 Mr Eric Hardwick Hastings Half Marathon

1990 Mrs Sheila Pratt St Helen's Park Preservation Society

1991 Mr George Wainwright services to Sport and Twinning

1992 Mrs Sheila Leach founder of St Michael's Hospice

1993 Miss Cecily Perring Hastings and Rother Voluntary Association for the Blind

1994 Mr Eric Stokes District Commissioner Hastings Scouts

1995 Mrs E Shiner Voluntary Services & Age Concern

1996 Mr John Woodharns Entertainment

1997 Miss June Fabian for Charity work within the Town

1998 Mrs E Montgomery Guide Commissioner VSP JP

1999 Mr Keith Leech Hastings Borough Bonfire Society

2000 Mrs M Green MBE N.S.P.C.C.

2001 Mrs G Stewart Charity Work 

2002 Dr B Eton MBE Service for the Community

2003 Mr Ron Lowndes Friends of the Conquest Hospital & St Leonards Parish Church

2004 Mr Derek Norcross Various Charity Works

2005 Rev C Sears Service to the community 

2006 Mr Brion Purdey Service to the community 

2007 Mrs P Cavanagh - Service to MacMillan Cancer Support

2008 Mr J Cosson - Service to the Community

2009 Mr C Morris - Service to the Community

2010 Mr I Porter - Service to the Community

2011 Mrs M Atherden -Service to the Community

2012 Mr Rod & Mrs Mildred Pelling – for Exceptional Services to the Borough of Hastings.

2013 Terry Novis -for outstanding service to the Borough of Hastings & St.Leonards

2014 Owen Thompson - for services to the community in Hastings, particularly multiculturalism, older people, St Michael's Hospice, Citizen's Advice Bureau and setting up the Hastings Intercultural Organisation. 

2015 Mr DeeDay White - for service to the community

2016 Mr Nick Lynas - for service to the community

2017 Ms Molly Townson - for service to the community

2018 Mrs Eve Martin - for service to the community

2019 Mrs Janice Harmer - for service to the community

2020 The people of Hastings - for community spirit during COVID-19